Beyond the Yellow Ribbon – Taran Schneider is recognized for service to military families

0002On July 19, Taran Schneider will receive the National Military Family Association’s 2011 Volunteer Corps Service Award in recognition of her service with military families in her community.

    “Her leadership and passion help her community to not just recognize the service and sacrifice of military families but also help support and meet the needs of military families,” said Christina Jumper, volunteer services director for the National Military Family Association.    

    Schneider’s volunteer work began with Beyond the Yellow Ribbon Southeastern Minnesota (BTYRSEMN) in November of 2009. The following month, she began volunteering with the National Military Family Association. With previous work experience in the Child Development Program at Elmendorf Air Force Base, these volunteer experiences followed a natural progression. Schneider is currently on the executive committee for BTYRSEMN.

    Through her work at Child Care Resource and Referral, she educates childcare providers on the unique stresses facing military families. Through the National Association of Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies, Schneider also assists military families with childcare needs, respite childcare and fee assistance.

    Last year, Schneider visited Operation Purple camps in Minnesota and Ohio. The camps are free, fun weeks for military kids to remind them that they are the Nation’s youngest heroes. “It was incredible to see an Operation Purple camp in action,” she said.

   Schneider also participates on the state team that is working on “Give Army Parents A Break.” This pilot program seeks to expand respite child care to include Army families.

    “Taran has distinguished herself as a true advocate for military families,” said Jumper.

    The public is invited to the award presentation at 6 p.m. on July 19 at the Chateau 14 Theaters.
    Congratulations, Taran!

Anna Matetic is a local writer and business owner. She is also a member of the Steering Committee for Beyond the Yellow Ribbon Southeast Minnesota.